krotfacts.blogg.se

How to defrag a macbook pro laptop
How to defrag a macbook pro laptop








  1. #How to defrag a macbook pro laptop install
  2. #How to defrag a macbook pro laptop download
  3. #How to defrag a macbook pro laptop mac

She's been there for me at 3am when I'm sobbing and trying to type a coherent essay before my deadline. Maccie and I have been through a lot together. Also, it wouldn't really be my computer anymore if they replaced the entire body. I decided that fixing the dent (which would require getting the entire unibody replaced for almost $600) wasn't really worth it since they insisted that it wouldn't interfere with the functionality of my computer. And they said it's unlikely that anything will come up in the future, and if it did they would just fix it under my AppleCare, without even referencing this event as the cause, since they had already checked it out and deemed it okay and unaffected by the fall.

how to defrag a macbook pro laptop

Everything checked out fine! Nothing was wrong with my machine at all! Apparently the only moving part of the new Macs is the fan and that wasn't moving when my computer took a dive so nothing internal was damaged. I walked into the Apple Store today with dread and apprehension and they ran diagnostics on it. I actually booked a Genius Appointment during my layover in the middle of my journey. On top of the cosmetic damage which pained me to look at, I was worried that perhaps the drop had damaged a crucial internal component of my computer. I was worried sick all through the rest of my journey. until I noticed that the bottom of my gorgeous machine was also dented, just a little, but enough to make my stomach churn. I almost breathed a sigh of sweet relief. It was bent and dented at the top and bottom left corners. Luckily, the snap-on case seemed to have absorbed most of the impact.

#How to defrag a macbook pro laptop mac

I pulled myself together enough to pick my Mac off the floor and inspect the damage.

how to defrag a macbook pro laptop

Someone jostled me right as I took it out of the bag, and before I knew it I was hearing a sickening thud and watching the bottom part of my Tech21 Impactology case fly off my computer. I dropped my lovely Mac at an airport two days ago while I was taking it out of my backpack to put in a bin for screening. But! if you over use them (lots of over-writes) they do degrade. Best to have a few copies just in case.įlash drives - more reliable than burnable CD/DVDs for long term storage. Still useful to hold music or downloaded stuff.

how to defrag a macbook pro laptop

Third - Backup, holds anything I care about or can't replace from CD/DVD.īurnable CD/DVD's - Not as reliable as a HD (slower to write or read from as well). Second - My video editing drive, fast big drive to work off of (defraging after each project) As you can't defrag the partition/Drive you booted from you use this drive to boot from to defrag your files (checking them first for corruption)

how to defrag a macbook pro laptop

#How to defrag a macbook pro laptop install

Partitioned drives makes backing up easier & quicker as you don't need to backup your OS & Apps as frequently as your data so you can focus the backup on one partition.Įveryone should have at least one external to backup your system.įirst - Small HD which I have a clean install of my OS to boot from and has my diagnostic and maintenance tools (could be a Flash thumb drive). Tip: use pref settings or folder aliases to make getting to the second partition automatic. If you have a larger HD think about setting up a second partition.ĭesktops - Best to have at least two partitions on the internal HD (most have larger HD's - 500meg or bigger). Laptops - Small HD systems, leave as one partition.

#How to defrag a macbook pro laptop download

What you download or create should be on your second partition and/or external HD. If you can move temp files to your second partition (see below) Each apps have settings (pref or internal) to alter their location (some can't be alterd). OS & App files need to be on the first partition of your primary HD. Breaking down the file types into different groups can make it easier to understand where they need to be.










How to defrag a macbook pro laptop